The Bisheff Blog
Analyzing and commenting on what's hot in sports

It’s All Opinions Day

They’re only opinions, but at least they’re all mine:

This is how good Blake Griffin is: I doubt if even Donald Sterling can screw him up . . .

Count me among those happily surprised at the Eastern voters rare display of objectivity in naming Zenyatta Horse of the Year over the East Coast-based Blame . The Grand Lady of racing certainly deserved it . . .

Most USC fans wondered what Pete Carroll saw in Jeremy Bates when he brought the offensive coordinator with him to Seattle. Now Pete must be wondering, too. He fired Bates on Tuesday . . .

Speaking of the Trojans, their already excellent upcoming recruiting class got better this week when two highly-regarded, previously committed Stanford prospects switched to USC . . .

The more I think about the Jets’ defensive performance against the Patriots and Tom Brady, the more amazed I am at the way they smothered all those quick little receivers on virtually every play . . .

Playing at home, with a solid running game in bad weather, the Bears have a shot at beating the Packers, but I can’t get by that Aaron Rodgers vs. Jay Cutler match up at quarterback. The way Rodgers is playing, you have to like the Pack . . .

Boy, I’m really impressed the way the Angels are re-signing all their players, aren’t you? . . .

Marcus Thames isn’t a bad pick up by the Dodgers. The guy can hit . . .

There is actually talk now of unbeaten San Diego State winding up with a No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament. Amazing . . .

If Andy Pettitte really decides to retire, the Yankees’ starting rotation is in serious trouble . . .

If it is starting to sound as if I’m anxious for baseball season, you’re right . . .

It’s so much more fun to watch the Lakers when Kobe takes 20 shots or less . . .

Phil Jackson would never say so, but I’m guessing he thinks the same thing . . .

There is conversation now that only players on winning teams should make the NBA All Star rosters. That’s crazy. If the Clippers’ Griffin and the Timberwolves’ Kevin Love don’t make it, they shouldn’t even play the game . . .

Are you as curious as I am to see who Jim Harbaugh picks as the new 49ers’ quarterback? . . .

I don’t know which is less enticing, watching one of the 50 college basketball games on TV every week, or tuning in to any of the bowl games other than the Rose and BCS title game . . .

I think it’s obvious now that this particular San Antonio Spurs group is no fluke. The Lakers should be worried. Very worried . . .

I know he was held out of the first series against the Jets because of it, but I thought Wes Welker’s tongue-in-cheek foot satire last week was hilarious . . .

Somewhere, you know even Rex Ryan had to laugh at Welker’s shtick . . .

When he is healthy, the way he is now, the Jets’ Darrelle Revis is the best player — not just the best cornerback — in the NFL . . .

Say it ain’t so, Lance. Say it ain’t so . . .

— STEVE BISHEFF

2 Responses to “It’s All Opinions Day”

  1. NIce post. I thought the Jets handled Sanchez perfectly — didn’t try to make him do too much, just biting off 10-15 yards at a time.

    I’ve never seen so many mediocre players signed in one offseason. (dodgers)

  2. In a way, the recruits who left Stanford are taking somewhat of a chance. The departure of Jim Harbaugh certainly played a part. However, the players are going from one situation where it is not known if the new coach can coach, to one where it is still questionable that the sitting coach (Kiffin) can coach. The Jets definitely have a chance against Pittsburgh because of Revis. He can shut down Hines Ward while it appears to me that the Steelers do not have much of a running game. I would like to take this opportunity to thank Zenyatta’s connections for allowing this wonderful mare to run in 2010. The Eclipse award was well deserved, although I feel that she deserved it even more last year when she won the Breeders Cup classic. I thought Native Diver was a once in a lifetime horse but I was wrong. However, I doubt if we will ever see the like of Zenyatta again, at least not in my lifetime. Thirty years from now, old horse players will be sitting around and bragging that they saw her run. My mother was at Seabiscuit’s last race, the 1940 Santa Anita Handicap and she talked about it all the time. I never tired of hearing the story and I wish I could hear it from her lips just one more time.


Leave a Reply

