The Bisheff Blog
Analyzing and commenting on what's hot in sports

The Blog Is Back . . .In A New Form

First thing I want to do is thank all the people who took the time to write such kind comments after my “Blog At A Crossroads” piece last week.

It really is gratifying to know some of you not only enjoy but look forward to the blog on a regular basis. As much fun as writing can be, it isn’t really meaningful if your work isn’t appreciated. And so many of you chimed in to let me know you’re basically addicted to the blog, it blew me away.

It also helped me make my decision. The blog resumes officially with this offering, but it will no longer be on a five-day-a-week basis. I will leave the format open, expecting to write two or three times a week, with the option it could increase based on breaking news.

If the Lakers suffer a serious injury, if the Angels or Dodgers make a major trade — or, as it seems of late, they don’t — I’ll be there to give you my take on it.

Hopefully, that will keep all you faithful readers out there checking in regularly, with the views continuing to grow the way they have, especially in the past month or two.

The brief time I took off refreshed me and your comments reinvigorated me, so again, please accept my heartfelt thanks and let’s get started again with one of your apparent favorites, the all opinions blog:

******

They’re only opinions, but at least they’re all mine:

I’d love to be listening in on the Angels-Scott Boras negotiations for Adrian Beltre. Arte Moreno has made it clear he is not a big Boras fan, but after the Carl Crawford snafu, the owner has to be desperate to sign Beltre. Advantage: Boras . . .

Here is the best way to describe Bob Feller, who died Wednesday at 92: He was Sandy Koufax before Koufax . . .

Cliff Lee to the Phillies surprised me as much as it did almost everyone else. The dominant left-hander not signing with the Rangers is the only really good news the Angels have had this winter . . .

And yes, that new Lee, Halladay, Oswalt, Hamels pitching rotation will be even more popular than cheesesteaks in Philly. It’s easily the best since the Maddux, Glavine, Smoltz group in Atlanta . . .

I’d say I’m going to miss Sasha Vujacic with the Lakers, except I’m not. To me, at $5 million-a-year, he’s been among the most overpaid athletes in sports . . .

Losing Jurrell Casey and Tyron Smith to the NFL will make it tougher for USC to get back to Pac-10 contending level in 2011. Casey, the aggressive defensive tackle, was the best player on the team, and the offensive line never operated efficiently when Smith was out with injuries this past season . . .

Now he’s heckling his own players? Donald Sterling is a piece of work, isn’t he? Some day I’ll have to write a blog about my experiences with him in San Diego . . .

Maybe the Dodgers can get Tony Gwynn Sr. to hit and Tony Gwynn Jr. to play center field . . .

Funny how a quarterback’s efficiency can drop when his team’s running game falters. Isn’t that right, Mark Sanchez? . . .

So now Mark Cuban thinks he can buy his own college football playoff system, huh? Right . . .

Tom Brady’s new theme song: Let it snow . . .Let it snow . . .Let it snow . . .

Best thing about Andrew Bynum’s return for the Lakers is that all those quick opposing guards no longer have a free access ride to the basket . . .

Every time I watch DeSean Jackson of the Eagles I think the Saints are making a huge mistake by not converting Reggie Bush to a fulltime wide receiver . . .

Anybody else bored by the college basketball season so far? Sadly, the one-and-done thing has turned this into a one month sport . . .

Until my friend Lee Jenkins wrote his piece in this week’s Sports Illustrated, I was beginning to think I was the only one noticing Kevin Love’s eyepopping numbers this season for the Timberwolves . . .

Name me one college bowl game that really intrigues you besides the BCS title match. Exactly . . .

What happens if L.A. winds up with two new football stadiums and no NFL team? I’m just sayin’ . . .

— STEVE BISHEFF

4 Responses to “The Blog Is Back . . .In A New Form”

  1. YAY! I’m so glad you’re back! Thanks, Steve!

  2. Welcome back, Steve. Always good to read your opinions, even though I do not always share them. However, as you have stated, the opinions are all yours. The blog was definitely missed. Personally, I would rather see Adrian Beltre go to an other team rather than pay the inflated price for him. Besides, the only time he seems to have a good year is when his contract is UP. Anybody who doesn’t believe this should check his stats while he was with the Dodgers. Bob Feller is only one of many top flight baseball players who lost time to the service during World War II and Korea. Hank Greenberg and Ted Williams also come to mind. Feller had some strong opinions and was a stand-up guy when it came to defending them. He will be missed. Most of the Clippers deserve to be heckled, but not by Sterling. I look forward to your blog about him.

  3. I’m guilty! I do not drink, smoke or gamble! But I do read the Blog first thing daily. So with that, I say thank you and welcome back!

    We all were surprised with LT the begining of the year with the Jets, but no one expected him to keep up the momenum all season. I know Joe McNight had fumble-itis in the pre-season, but has had no carries this year. Just trying to figure out how Mark Sanchez can improve!

  4. Glad your back. I could not go on without your Angel insights. Someone should ask Arte how he thinks his fans will like being a small market team talent wise in a major market. It’s a travesty. His apporoch will be reflected in decreasing box office.


Leave a Reply

